Well, hello there

Hello there!

My name is Jen and welcome to my blog, Dark Purple Moon. This is my first post and I want to start by telling you a bit about me and why I have decided to start blogging.

First of all I love doing a lot of things and I read a lot of blogs, addressing: being green, crafting, Pagan, allotmenteering, feminist and no-one had circumstances simillar to mine – ie living in a suburb of England, in their early thirties (well, Ive just turned 30) and is just starting out on some of these paths.

I wanted to share my story of someone who is learning to craft, learning to be green and frugal and learning to grow vegetables. A lot of the blogs I read are American or Australian where they live in the country and have HUGE houses and gardens. I live in a typical small English terraced house in the town. As such, although I love the blogs and the writing I find them overwhelming as much as inspiring, I can never be as good as that!

Another big issue I have is that none of the green/frugal blogs have a feminist viewpoint, its all about the women doing all of the work. Now, I have recently moved in with my other half (OH) and I want him to do as much housework as I do. In addition he is not at all interested in being green or frugal and I have to really convince him to save money and not buy bottled water, let alone anything else. So I have two battles on my hands with this one!

Lastly, I am Pagan and this is my driving point for many things and nearly all of the blogs I read are either overtly Christian or it is there in the background. While I dont have a problem with this and I enjoy reading about other people’s spirituallity, it is not where I am at. So there will not be huge amounts of Paganism in this, but as it is the bedrock of my life, it will be there!

I want to blog to encourage others who maybe overwhelmed with starting to be crafty and green. So, welcome to anyone who is reading this, I hope you find it interesting, please subscribe via the RSS feed and leave me some comments!

4 thoughts on “Well, hello there

  1. Eilleen says:

    Congratulations on your new blog! (And yay! I’m first to comment! hehe)

    I got here by following the link in your id when you commented on my blog. I try to visit the blogs of the people who take the time to comment in mine.

    I am really looking forward to reading your views and your journey to a green and frugal life from a feminist perspective!

    • darkpurplemoon says:

      Thanks Eileen, you are the first to comment and yours is one of the blogs which I always read and has inspired me to get on and do my blogs. So thank you for the encouragement!

  2. verdant1 says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere! (I’ve just joined, too.)
    I’m really looking forward to seeing your posts as I am an environmentally-interested pagan feminist-in-training.
    I wholeheartedly agree with you about the paganism (or any religion) as bedrock of life thing. I find that, while I don’t ‘go on’ about my beliefs much (unless asked), my worldview as a pagan (and a rather earth-mother focused shaman, at that) is rather different from the average Chrisitan or agnostic.
    All the best – I’ll be reading! (and you’re on my blogroll)

Leave a Reply

