Autumn is coming

This week it has felt like the seasons have changed from summer to autumn. Of course the end of August is officially the end of autumn, however it is never normally so clearly delineated.

There has been a tang in the air, a certain smell which differs from that of summer. And I love it. I joyfully announced to my OH that it was nearly time for gloves and scarves and hats, thick jumpers and stews. He looked at me as if I was some what mad.

One of the main reasons I love living in England (and I am not at all patriotic) is the seasons and the clear distinctions between them. I enjoy the contrasts, seeing the difference in the landscape around us and the way we as humans respond to them.

The changing of the seasons always makes me stop and appreciate the nature that surrounds us, even in our towns.

It means the manic production of my allotment is going to slow down and give me to time to think a bit about what I am actually doing with it all (I will share my ideas soon), try and get some spring crops as well as plan for next years main season. As I got my plot so late in the season I didn’t really get a chance to plan – I didn’t have the space to plant things anyway, but as I have nearly finished digging half of my plot I am in a better position.

A major thing for me is that I go to University next week, which I am very excited about. I graduated 9 years ago, so it is good to be going back to study, especially as it is enabling me to do what I have always wanted to do (teach). So the changing of seasons is allowing change in my life to.

What does the change of seasons mean for you?

3 thoughts on “Autumn is coming

  1. Frugal Trenches says:

    I love this time of year because Autumn is just so special!

  2. risa b says:

    I become frustrated by how good the harvest often is (and this year, unlike the U.S. East Coast where it has been horrible, we in Oregon had a good year — there was enough water) and how little time I have available, once again, to process the harvest. Everything is at its BEST and piles up and I’ve left the dehydrator empty and the canning kettle untouched all week, commuting to work and back home and it’s already dark, and here I am collapsing dog-tired into bed. And all my activist friends are counting on me for an event this weekend and and I could just scream. That’s my fall, every fall — leading up to and including Thanksgiving, when everyone skips over all the things I did put up, and buys too much bad stuff and spreads it on the table, and I fall for it and get fat.

    The only time I’m any grumpier is Chrstmas …

    On the other hand, we like to sit in the cool of the evenings by the barnyard and have a glass of wine. watching the poultry catch their last bugs of the day, and the deer on the other side (thanks heavens) of the fence eating blackberries, as the bats come out and flit around, and we wish on the first star before going in. Many of our falls are too lovely to believe, like summer is holding its breath and going for the record.

    Thank goodness we dumped the ‘telly’!

    • You are right frugal trenches, autumn is very special.

      Risa B, I forget you people call it fall out there. It certainly is a very apt name for it and you have thanksgiving too, something we just dont have here in the UK. It sounds like you have a very productive growing space, I hope you manage to save as much of it as possible.

Leave a Reply

