What does your post bring you?

I don’t know about you, but for the most part my post brings me nothing but bills or junk mail. All of my correspondence about nice things is through phone, text or email.

I decided that if this was the case for me, the chances are that is the same for a lot of my friends as well. As such I wanted to try to bring a little happiness to my friends in a way they probably don’t get very often.

So I sent some of them a notelet just saying hi and I wished them well and I wanted them to receive something nice in the post for no apparent reason.

I got a really good response from everyone that I sent one to. Either they were having a bad day and it cheered them up, or they liked the surprise!

I realise that sending letters isn’t the most green thing in the world, but if you use recycled paper its not so bad. And I think the happiness far out weighs this.

I will certainly be keeping this up and sending these on a random basis, as well as improving my appalling record at sending birthday and seasonal cards. I used to be against these, but having some people in my life who always send cards I have learnt to appreciate them and it can be done in an environmental and frugal way.

It also shouldn’t be onerous, you don’t have to mail all of your friends at once, just do one as and when you have the time or inclination. I don’t want this to be something I worry about, just a pleasant thing I do when I think of a friend.

My challenge to you is to send a card or letter or something else to a friend, for no reason other than you want to. It shouldn’t be something which doesn’t fit in the normal mail, the idea is that amongst the bills there is a lovely handwritten envelope. See what responses this elicits and let me know how it is received!

3 thoughts on “What does your post bring you?

  1. verdant1 says:

    What a great idea. I will attempt to rise to the challenge.
    I kind of manage okay on the birthday card front – but I’m not good at Christmas cards or Thank You letters. The latter makes me feel particularly bad, so I will challenge myself to do something about that, too (and teach my kids good habits).
    With recycled paper, etc readily available, I really think the wider environmental impact versus the personal environmental impact makes it a good deal. I know that when I’m happy I’m much more likely to make better decisions about everything, and I would presume that many others are the same.
    And remember, you don’t have to write a lot for it to have a big impact – my most precious cards have only a sentence or two.

  2. Eilleen says:

    I really like this idea! I will attempt it too 🙂

  3. Frugal Trenches says:

    I recieve a lot of fab post, but do not send out nearly enough! Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

