We are worthy

I realise that my last post could possibly come across more than a little maudlin and after an email conversation with Julia from the Marmalade Kiss I realise that I may have mislead you all somewhat, so I want to set the record straight.

I have been a practicing Pagan for over 13 years now, it is an important element of my life and it shapes the way I think. The reason I have started blogging is more about starting as a complete newbie on the craft side of things and trying to improve my green and frugal attempts and to write about them from a Pagan point of view.

What has changed for me now is I have left a job which was at odds with my personal beliefs and I am now trying to be more congruent with myself on every aspect of my life. I make my own beauty products, including making soap and conditioning my hair with vinegar, I try to go by public transport if at all possible (its not always that easy outside of London) and I have made aspects of my life local, where I can walk or cycle a lot of the time.

Growing my own food and trying to be more aware of where food comes from is important to me, but I know I have a long way to go on this.

I try to buy fairtrade clothes where possible, along with ethical products for things like makeup and that’s if I decide to buy anything in the first place – I am trying to reduce my wants. Admittedly part of that has been a financial necessity, but I have been grateful for the wake up call. I am sure losing my job was a push from the Gods to put my money where my mouth was (ha!) for once and to make these changes I have been wishing and moaning about for years.

And yet, as I said in my last post I feel like this isn’t enough and I can do better. Some of you commented I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, or enjoy slowing down to look around and see what I would normally miss out on. Which I try to do. Reading Small Wonder by Barbara Kingsolver I came across this quote:

I’m skeptical of evangelism, so I’m not going to have a tent revival here. But if you’ve come with me this far, you are in some sense a fellow traveler, and I’m glad for your company. In this congregation we dont confess or sit around changing “we are not worthy”; we must do what we can and trust that the effort matters.

I am going to try to take this to heart. Interestingly I got this book from the library after a recommendation on one of the blogs I read, I’ve forgotten which, but please let me know if its from you.

I am glad for your company – one reason I started this blog was to be part of this wider online community we have. I had been a long time lurker and it took me ages to pluck up the courage to comment, let alone post. So, please post, even if you are a lurker and you wouldn’t normally, you have no idea how much your comments mean to me.

6 thoughts on “We are worthy

  1. fox says:

    I can sympathize with you on the lurking part. Even though I have my own blog and have been using it for a while, as well as read several other blogs on a regular basis, I tend to stay back in the shadows and observe. I occasionally poke my nose out of my little den enough to make a comment here and there or to stop by and say “Hi” to a friend. So, here I am, poking my nose out and saying “Hi!”

  2. juliab says:

    Great post Jen! It was me who recommended the BK book. Glad you are enjoying it. xxx

  3. Ms B. Thrift says:

    Hi there I have just stumbled across your blog and am now an avid fan, it’s lovely to meet someone else who is new to the crafting/thrift lifestyle although sounds like you are off to an amazing start making your own products etc! It seems we have a lot in common what with being a fellow newbie and redundancy causing a shift in our perspectives (and finances!) Looking forward to following your blog and wish you the best for achieving your goals and having lots of fun along the way!

  4. Eilleen says:

    What a fantastic post! Thank you for starting your blog and sharing your journey.

  5. Thank you all for your lovely comments, as I said they really are very appriciated and keep me motivated to post as well. I am glad you are enjoying my blog .

    Jen

  6. Sandra says:

    I’ve just found your blog and I will be back for more! Great to see someone else reading down to earth and a feminist – I’m still thinking through the crossroads and divergences between the two.

Leave a Reply

