Do it OUR way

My local council has implemented a new recycling scheme onto all of its residents. We now have 3 normal sized wheely bins – yes 3. One for food, which has to be wrapped in newspaper or put into the biodegradable bags you can buy, one for recyclables and one for other waste.

My front garden

My front garden

So, why am I not wholeheartedly behind this?

I have several issues:

  • 3 big bins which get emptied each week. So every week 3 different trucks go around the whole of Thurrock (my borough) and drive these off – lots of pollution
  • Elderly and disabled people are going to struggle to move these around, they are heavy, unwieldy and our gardens/streets have not been built for them
  • It is quite a bit of effort to move these each week (yes we are lazy) and it is going to make people resentful
  • Partially sighted people are not going to be able to distinguish between them (they are all dark colours) and the blind haven’t got a hope as they currently stand
  • Those with mobility issues who use a chair or scooter will have problems on bin day – there is no way they will be able to get down the street with 3 bins per house on the pavement
  • It would have been better to have smaller bins to get people to reduce their waste, not just split it 3 ways

Oh and they are chipped as well, which I don’t like.

My two neighbour's bins

My two neighbour's bins

There was no public consultation on this – it was just dropped on us with a ‘do it OUR way’ attitude, no chance for us to suggest better alternatives and no information as to what they are going to do with the three types of waste either – have they got a massive bokashi system running somewhere? Prior to this we just had one bin and a small box for recycling. Call me cynical, but I am not convinced anything is going on behind the scenes to deal with the real green issues and this is just a green-washing, box ticking exercise.

Part of me wants to take up local politics, but right now I don’t have the time or the energy and I have no idea as to what to do, how to go about it and what is involved. Maybe I will just have to set an example through university, college and work.

5 thoughts on “Do it OUR way

  1. EcoYogini says:

    I’ve been thinking about your post for the last few days. I think you’ve brought up some very interesting points.
    I do so wish we’d move beyond oil and gas dependence…. then those trucks could be electric powered or biodiesel at least.

    In any case- thank you for making me consider that point of view 🙂

  2. juliab says:

    They do seem rather big!! How much rubbish do they think you have!!? x

  3. ugh! I hear you. We are a pay as you go town. Meaning we have to put all trash into bags that are purchased. A good insentive to recycle as there is no charge for this.

    The bins are huge and I can see and agree with all of your points. What where they thinking? Was there a sale on huge ugly bins…Those things are big enough for a public building for goodness sake. And oh’ don’t they make the view so pretty….

    Perhaps if enough crab about them they will come up with something else….

    K

  4. Frugal Trenches says:

    Being a good example is a great way to start!

  5. […] proud of myself, but then I thought, why am I not doing more? Why didn’t I complain about the bins? What else can I do in my local community? When I originally wanted an allotment all of the waiting […]

Leave a Reply

