Fallen art

Tomorrow is Samhain, which, along with Beltaine, is my favourite festival of the year. It was just after Samhain last year that my life changed totally after losing my job and pushing me onto this path that I follow. Ironically enough just before Samhain a friend did a tarot reading for me saying massive change was coming soon (the cards of Death and Tower gave that away) and within 3 days that change had started to happen.

This year how I celebrate has changed, in that I am now part of a grove of Druids I celebrate each festival with and I wanted to create an offering which is especially relevant to me at this point in time.

Part of my life now is trying to be in my in touch with my creative side and allowing myself to be creative and more to the point allowing myself not to have to create everything perfectly. The striving for perfection has been a massive block to my creativity – my ego not allowing me to do anything unless I am going to be the best or perfect. To be honest this doesn’t just interfer with being creative, but a lot of my life!

So, I wanted to create an offering using natural mediums and not get hung up on it being perfect.

Leaves are symbolic for me at this time of year, so I created a wreath out of fallen leaves

 

Wreath of leaves

Wreath of leaves (sorry about the carpet!)

As I have to take it to my ritual tomorrow night it is one complete item, I have sewn it together using cotton, so it is all biodegradable.

Wreath of leaves

Different view

Sorry about the light in these photos and they are not entirely clear what it is.

It is three rings of leaves painstakingly sewn together! It took over an hour and had to be done rather gently to stop the leaves tearing. So I can carry it to my ritual and leave it as an offering, which will rot away in the not too distant future.I think it would have looked better with different colours of leaves, but they are all brown around here, rather than magnificent reds or oranges. This is the firstย  year I have spent here, so I am not sure if that is normal, I amย  used to beautiful hues!

While I was at it I made a couple of small bunches to go around my house.

Decoration

Natural festive decorations

So, Samhain blessings to you all.

7 thoughts on “Fallen art

  1. Thessa says:

    Hi There ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a beautiful samhain celebration tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

    Goddess Bless
    Thessa (Moonhare from down to earth forum)

  2. Sarah Head says:

    Beautiful wreath, Jen – what a lovely thing to take to your Grove celebration! I used to be part of a druid grove here in Birmingham, but it kinda fell apart when the leader moved to Glastonbury and the other members moved on to start new groves of their own in different parts of the West Midlands. I miss it a great deal, but haven’t had the energy to do anything about joining or forming a new Grove. Samhain is very special for me, especially with all the work I do around loss and grief. My favourite part of the ritual was when we formed a bridge so any wandering souls/spirits could travel into the light. It was always very poweful and moving. I wish you ever blessing for tomorrow and the following year.

  3. EcoYogini says:

    ouuu so beautiful!
    I adore Halloween-Samhain, have always, even before I recognized my “wiccy” ways for what they were. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Many Blessings!

  4. What is a beautiful wreath. Blessings tomorrow on Samhain.

  5. I’m sorry..that should have read What a beautiful wreath…not what is.

  6. juliab says:

    Hope you had a lovely time! Are you in Rob’s Grove? I reckon you need to know about Wabi-Sabi if you don’t already .. (http://nobleharbor.com/tea/chado/WhatIsWabi-Sabi.htm) though I happen to think that your beautiful wreath is perfect! xx

  7. Mara says:

    How lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

