Trouble on Twitter

I really didn’t want my blog to become just a reposting of others’ posts and news and I realise this is the third time that I have done this, but I feel outraged enough to do so (interestingly, these three posts are all about feminsit issues).

Penelope Trunk has written an article for The Guardian’s Comment is Free (CiF). You can read it for yourself but her tweet which has caused all the problem was:

I’m in a board meeting. Having a miscarriage. Thank goodness, because there’s a fucked-up three-week hoop-jump to have an abortion in Wisconsin.

Personally I wouldn’t tweet that because I am really quite a private person (I know I have a blog, but I talk about issues in my life, rather than my personal life per say), but the response has been horrific!

This really got me

I was even interviewed on CNN where the news anchor asked me, “Young lady, do you have no shame?” My boyfriend’s extended family called to make sure he was dumping me

Shame for having a miscarriage? Or shame at wanting an abortion? Why should she feel shame and for what part of it? I can’t really understand this. On CiF the amount of deleted comments is staggering.

Jenga72 said in the comments section

Let men have babies, let men have periods, abortions, misscarraige, pregnancy, childbirth. Then let us condone them for their thoughts and actions on the subject (how often is the partner judged for his girlfriends unplanned pregnancy or abortion???), let us force them through unwanted pregnancies, let us criticize and blame them for their carelessness, let us make them loose [sic] their jobs and accept lower salaries, let them work night shifts at 8.5 months and lets not allow them to talk to anyone about it, for fear they might offend.

This sums up what I feel about this, along with the extremely marvellous Penny Red, who blogs this in her own vociferous way, who altered me to this issue.

I realise this is contentious and many of my readers are green, rather than feminist, but what do you think?

2 thoughts on “Trouble on Twitter

  1. EcoYogini says:

    sigh. this topic disturbs me so much, i’ve come to ignore it. i know. it’s terrible to stick your head in the sand- but usually opinions and comments are so ignorant i can’t handle my emotional response reading them. i can’t be objective.

    i agree with you 100% Jen. this discussion is too important to ignore and it’s great that you’re bringing it to our attention.

  2. juliab says:

    People like to judge don’t they? xx

Leave a Reply

