Stepping back and cutting down

My life has become extremely busy of late – trying to balance working for money, studying for my teaching qualification, teaching and preparing for teaching, as well as normal life things. Its been a big change for me from nine months of working a couple of days a week.

I have a tendancy to getting myself into an extremley stressed state, which can develop into depression if I am not careful.

So, I have decided to step back and cut down. I have loved reading blogs – all sorts – green, crafty, feminist, pagan and everything in between. But recently my RSS feeder has been a source of stress for me – it had 6 subject tabs with loads of blogs on each, making me feel guilty for not reading them all. So I have cut them down – to just a few which I read now and even then not every day. It has been strangely freeing to do so.

I have also stepped back from making all of the Christmas presents I had planned to do. I realise from a green or frugal perspective this is not great, but I just cannot do it all and I have to look after myself. Next year, I will make presents in my summer holidays!

Although I have high ideological stadards I would like to attain I have to realise that I am only human and I cannot do everything at once. I cannot compare myself to people who are retired, or have children, live in America or Australia with huge grounds, or have a different life to me. We are all in our own place and we have to make the choices which are right for us right now.

Being Pagan isn’t about escapism, it is about being part of the world which surrounds us and interacting with it in reality. For me, this means being true to myself, including admitting that I have limitations, and sometimes I have to step back and cut down in order for me to remain my best.

6 thoughts on “Stepping back and cutting down

  1. Eilleen says:

    Hey Jen!

    Firstly, all the best in your studies and work! It is very hard to juggle our daily demands.

    Secondly, I think you are very brave to face up to what you can and can not do. I know how daunting it is to process all of that.

    I admit, I don’t read all the blogs in my RSS feed (and I don’t have it in my RSS reader – it goes directly on to my blog). I trust that I will know when it is timely for me to read the very few blogs that I do read.

    Which brings me to you. I have not read your blog in awhile but I clicked into here because… well its timely for me to read your blog.

    I have also been feeling very busy and it was good to read your thoughts and have it serve as a reminder to me that its not just okay but ESSENTIAL that I live within my limitation.

    What is the use of sustainable living at the expense of my own wellbeing?

    So thank you for your emails, your comments and your posts on your blog. I hope that when the time is right, you do continue to write – not because you feel the pressure to – but because its one of many things that help you define your own well-being.

    Wishing you much rest and peace!
    Eilleen

  2. EcoYogini says:

    Yep, it is easy to get sucked into the time warp of reading blogs and feeling like you *have* to write posts etc etc.

    Good for you for taking care of yourself and doing what’s best for YOU. You are absolutely right, everyone has a different situation of what they are capable of. I have no thoughts of making my own presents- thought about it than thought…. nah. lol. there is no way I could and it would just stress me out.

    I totally support you! 🙂

    Many Blessings!

  3. verdant1 says:

    Good on you!
    Great post – I especially like the last paragraph. It’s too easy to forget that.
    I think you’re making some very sensible decisions – looking after yourself is important, but not an easy choice. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being human – and you are also setting the rest of us a good example!
    I know what you mean about the making presents thing – I meant to as well, but somehow it was suddenly halfway through October and I had to revise my options. I’m going the Fair Trade route as much as possible – which I guess is supporting other craftspeople!
    Best of luck with it all.
    Jude

  4. Thank you for all of your comments on this topic, it sure has made me feel a lot better!

    I will continue to post – lets face it I havent excatly been a prolific blogger compared with some of you, but I do post a few times a month
    Jen

  5. Ms B. Thrift says:

    Best of luck with things, I have a similar tendency to stress about things and make myself down when things get overloaded and busy, i think your strategy sounds the best really, focus on and rediscover the important things and make do with the rest, i thi nk no matter how organised you try and be you can never get everything done that is required, so streamlining and trying to make the best of what you can do is best. I would have loved to have homemade everything this year but it’s just not possible with working and family, but maybe next year I might be able to manage it with a bit more time to prepare. Wishing you all the best x

Leave a Reply

