Hook it!

My mum doesn’t live all that close to me so we don’t get to spend a huge amount of time together. Last time she came over I mentioned that I wanted to learn how to crochet. I had tried to figure it out from YouTube videos and it just didn’t work.

So in 5 minutes flat she had very kindly shown me how to make a granny square using triples. I immediately loved it!

In my normal style I am rather cack handed and it took me ages to do the first one, but very, very quickly I realised it was easy and great fun. It took me a while to figure out the tension – as you can see by this picture – all of these squares are actually the same amount of stitches, but vary hugely in size!

I have now got the crochet bug it has to be said! So I ordered some cheap wool (and I use the term in the generic yarn sense of the word) and got going. I decided I liked big squares in purple, pink and grey!

I have to say  it is so relaxing, it doesn’t require much thought and I can pay attention to other things as well. It now means when I have reached the stage where my brain has given up on studying and prepping for teaching I can watch TV and still be productive!

There is also an immediate sense of gratification – the squares get bigger really quickly – probably because of the number of holes! To be fair I also seem to have chosen a giant hook compared to other tutorials I have seen. I may get a smaller one at some point when I am feeling more confident with it all.

I feel ready to start tackling some more complicated tasks soon – I get a lot of inspiration from Attic24 – a place to go if you like lots of splashes of colour in your day. She also does quite comprehensive tutorials, so if you are keen get someone to show you the basics or see if you are better at reading and viewing instructions than I am!

Since I have started crocheting ( I originally drafted this post back in November!) I have made some sort of hand warmer type things for my friend’s Yule present:

Lacy hand warmers

More for decoration than for warmth!

I have also started creating slightly more complicated things with my crochet, but I will post about that after I have caught up with myself!

3 thoughts on “Hook it!

  1. EcoYogini says:

    ouuu, very cool!!! i think they look beautiful, i love the colour 🙂

  2. verdant1 says:

    Fab work! And I love the colour. Keep it up!!
    But it is addictive, isn’t it?! I learned a couple of years ago before a long haul flight (couldn’t cope with the thought of not knitting for 36 hours). I’ve now got confident enough, I’m even accumulating multiple unfinished projects – the mark of homecoming in any craft!

  3. Becky says:

    They look good, I cant crochet, wish i could and I wish I had paid more attention to my Nan when she tried to show me! x

Leave a Reply

