Carry on Priesting

Hello. How has it been two weeks since I posted? How did that happen?! I am on Easter hols from College/Uni, so expect a flurry of posts from me over the next two weeks, although I expect I will write lots and then stagger the posting.

Thank you for all of your comments recently I have been thinking a lot about your responses to my post on Priesthood. I am sorry I haven’t responded before now, I have been mulling your comments over.

I think you are right – especially Sarah – I have been thinking of it compared to the Christian priest. In response to Sarah the reason I talk about preaching is because I see that as part of the Priest role – but I meant standing up in front of a pulpit, not trying to convert people. I think you are right, that is not what I can have, so I should stop thinking about it in that way. As for Ecoyogini’s comment on why do I say Priest instead of Priestess, erm… I just do. I think it is probably wrong! Sarah also mentioned that the Christian Priest is a conduit, whereas for us Pagans that (of course!) is not a requirement. Again, this wasn’t something that I thought would be part of it.

Isn’t it funny how one word can have so many meanings for so many people and provoke so many thoughts and comments.

I agree wholeheartedly with the idea of the role of Priestess (I will try to say that Ecoyogini!) being as Sarah says:

I think a priest/ess’ role is one of servant. Caring for others, for the land and if you are called to the path of shaman, to travel into the spirit world to accompany those being born or dying. Wisdom comes from experience, ability to interpret it and apply it and a massive realisation of how little you know no matter how much you have studied/learned/experienced.

As for what I am going to do about it…. nothing! Well, that’s not entirely true, I am going to continue living my life as I do and trying to improve it in many ways. Which is what this blog is about really. As Sarah said:

I would suggest you allow the role you feel called towards to emerge by looking at it from the corner of each eye rather than straight on until you understand it and are truly ready to grasp it.

You are so right Sarah  and this is completely the opposite to how I am in my life generally – a good lesson I will try to work on.

Thank you for all of your comments on this subject and for making me think and challenge my thoughts further.

3 thoughts on “Carry on Priesting

  1. armaitus says:

    Interesting, I tend to use the term Minister in place of Priestess/Priest – firstly I don’t think it is gender oriented and secondly it seems a little more down to earth. I also never apply the term to myself, although I often feel that I fill the role within my own network of contacts.

    The role itself is no different than the one I see as being ascribed to the priesthood. I see the role as being a combination of counsellor, oracle and confidante (amongst other things).

    The only real difference i suppose is when you compare the role with that of the mainstream monotheistic religions, they add an element of ethical and moral dictatorship into the role; guiding their flock in Rights and Wrongs of society. I don’t see that as fitting into my remit as Oracular Counsellor & Confidante.

    One thing that has always made me chuckle is the way that some people throw the term “High” in front of the priesthood. Can one priestess truly be higher than another within the same community?

  2. EcoYogini says:

    I was more curious why you used Priest- I agree that whatever suits you best is fantastic 🙂 It is true though, we place so much meaning on words- as they are how we form the majority of our thoughts.

    I love your decision and thoughts on the matter. It sounds like you have a great plan and also am a fan of Sarah’s description. 🙂

    I hope you had a fabulous holiday!

  3. Plan? Plan???? Ha ha h ahha hahhah haha aha ha a.

    Ahem.

    Armaitus I think you are right when you say
    I see the role as being a combination of counsellor, oracle and confidante (amongst other things).

    Lots to think about

    Jen

Leave a Reply

