Creative genius

Posts-a-plenty at the moment and its not even a holiday!

I have always had a problem with my creativity – denying it for a very long time and being generally full of self doubt about my work, in any of its forms. You have no idea how hard it was for me to initially blog and to think I had anything to say which was worthy of blogging and to date I still haven’t told most people I know about it. In fact, my work not being worthy has been a recurring theme for many years. I wish I could pinpoint that moment when I started thinking like that, but I can’t.

Today on Damh the Bard’s blog I saw this video (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love – which I haven’t even heard of before I saw this link)

edited – damn it I just cannot get the embedded link to work. Sorry – you will just have to go here to watch it

Wow. The idea that our creativity is a genius – a spirit which lives outside us and inspires us is great. Why, at no point in my life have I realised this is fantastic. Surely this is what Awen is? And why haven’t I allowed myself to value that in me? Hmmm, I think I need to take a real pause for thought here. I have to admit that this video had me slightly in tears at the end of it. I really need to work to embody this concept in my life.

What about you – does this video resonate with you?

And you thought the post title was a grand claim about me being a creative genius!

Leave a Reply

