Oh bunt off!

Thank you for the recent comments, especially on my admitting defeat post – I am glad I am not the only one. And, yes I can be found lurking on The Druid Network site sometimes!

So, one of the crafty projects I have been doing is creating some bunting for my niece’s first birthday. I have to say this is one of
those occasions where I have been lulled into a false sense of security by teh interwebs.

From reading various posts from a variey of sites I was under the impression that it was an easy thing to do. It was not. To be fair  that could have something to do with the fact that i wouldn’t be happy  with it being cut with pinking shears, or that I wanted a new letter on each of the little triangles.

Have you tried cutting fiddly letters out of fabric and bondaweb? Let me tell you it is not easy. And rather time consuming. Oh and “happy  birthday niece” actually has a lot of letters in it! (Her name isn’t  really niece, obviously, but it does have 5 letters in it.)

On top of that each triangle was 2 triangles sewn together inside out and then folded back the right way. Then I realised that I didn’t like the idea of having a line of stiches all the way across each triangle.  So I hand-sewed each one to the top and bottom of the tape.

I guess that the Internet cannot be blamed for this turning into a  mammoth project. It’s all my fault! Still, hopefully my niece will  have her name on bunting which can be used all year and a “happy  birthday” which can be used on her birthday for the rest of her life.

Bunting saying happy birthday

Rubbish photo, but it was that or you weren't going to get one!

2 thoughts on “Oh bunt off!

  1. calliecat says:

    Hi, saw this blog and just called in to say hi

  2. […] Sorry it has been such a long time since I posted.  I hadn’t intended it to be, but it has been less than you think – my last post didn’t turn up in my RSS feeds, so there is a chance that it hasn’t in yours either. Check it out here. […]

Leave a Reply

