Feminists are “obnoxious bigots”

yes, that’s right girls, after all, that is what Tory MP Dominic Raab says.

For the full, tedious story read it here at the Guardian.

It’s so depressing. This is representative of the party who are in control of this country. It really makes me feel like the Tory party ‘get’ what is going on around them. Oh no, that’s right. They don’t.

It makes me so cross, another example of the word ‘feminist’ is a ‘dirty’ word. It astonishes me how many of my female students have been appalled and disgusted when I asked them if they were a feminist.

I would like to point out that it was relevant to the play we were studying, I am not preaching from my position of power (ha ha ha).

Anyway, another day another diss.

 

3 thoughts on “Feminists are “obnoxious bigots”

  1. armaitus says:

    I read this and in my head heard Captain Zapp Brannigan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zapp_Brannigan) say

    “No, no, no! Feminists are sexy obnoxious bigots…” šŸ˜‰

    I don’t know why.

    Feminists, like many people who defend a specific or niche point of view are easy targets for people like Dominic Raab; although I often feel that accusations of bigotry are made by people trying to hide their own bigotry.

    If he’d said that “some extreme feminists are obnoxious bigots” then I could cut him some slack but not much.

    A far truer statement would be “some people with extreme beliefs are obnoxious bigots”. But he seems too hung up on perceived pro-feminine bias – which is a shame, he seems like he means to be equalitarian but comes across as almost as bigoted as he perceives feminists to be.

    On a related note, it does seem as if we’re dangerously close to accepting gender discrimination. BBC news this morning had a chap defending the recent sexist remarks from a Sky sports commentator as (and I paraphrase) “It’s OK, he’s from a generation where that kind of attitude was acceptable”.

    As if that makes it right nowadays!

    That’s like allowing apartheid era white South Africans to murder black South Africans, just because they were around when that was acceptable behaviour in their society.

    • I can hear him now!

      It is awful isn’t it? It does feel like we are being dragged back at times. It makes me despondent after the intial anger dies. And then I don’t know what to do.

  2. Liam says:

    So what? It’s true!

Leave a Reply

