education, education, oh bollocks

Hello there.

So, rather than doing a long, boring catch up post with what has been going on in my life I decided to cut to the chase.

Education, Education, Education was Tony Blair’s (former Prime Minster) catch-phrase during his election – that was in October 2005. Now? Forget it? Funding for EAL students? Cut. EMA – the funding given to students too poor to stay in college without it? Cut. Money per student head? Cut?

Yes, I am not stupid, I know that we are in a recession, but is cutting spending on education the best way to go? Is cutting pensions so that teachers work longer, pay in about £200 more a month and get less at the end a good idea? No…Teachers do not get a gold-plated pension, it is about £10K a year. And working till 65? Are you joking – I can keep up with the pace of things and the technology now, but in another 33 years? Not a chance.

My college has had 10% of its budget cut, so there are redundancies, the other major college in my area – well they went through a take over a couple of years ago and have been laying people off ever since. It sucks.

I have just spent £10K doing my teacher training and there are not any jobs in my area. I cannot move as there is two of us. So, basically as of the end of this academic year I do not have a job. I AM A QUALIFIED TEACHER AND I DO NOT HAVE A JOB… is that clear?

I am having another career think, which is a shame as I am a good teacher and I do enjoy teaching a great deal. As for what happens come September….watch this space a lot depends on Friday….

I plan on commenting on others’ sites and blogging more again, I think I just needed a bit of a break, but I am back

3 thoughts on “education, education, oh bollocks

  1. EcoYogini says:

    SPEECH THERAPIST!!!! WOOHOO! 🙂 (haha, you’d be PERFECT with your background).

    In understand you though too- Andrew has a sociology degree and has been working crap jobs… and now has to go back to school for ANOTHER bachelor’s degree… and possibly a master’s after that. ugh.

    I also had to fund my master’s degree 100%, which put me in debt quite a bit (I’m still paying it off 5 years later). Canada’s student loans (which are cheaper interest) are ridiculous, universities have really poor scholarship programs and tuition is just going UP UP UP. sad

    • Ha ha, I did think about that when I was a child – but I really hate hospitals and I don’t think I could stand to work in one everyday.

      In addition the NHS has no jobs either – front line staff are being cut there too.

  2. […] Well, you have seen my education, education, oh bollocks post. So I have greatly enjoyed my work, but it really hasn’t worked out the way that I […]

Leave a Reply

