Married!

So, there is a reason I haven’t posted for the past few months, over and above laziness that is I have been planning a wedding, getting married and going on honeymoon. It has been a stressful time, but so worth the effort!

I have never been the sort of person to dream of a wedding, so when we decided to get married I wasn’t sure what I wanted to have – except I knew it wasn’t going to be overly traditional.

So, we got married at the registry office, went to a barn, had the handfasting and then had a really chilled out day – it was actually sunny, which was amazing considering the first three weeks of July had rained solidly.

We are not formal people, I live in jeans and doc martens in the winter – jeans and birkenstocks in the summer and so I wanted to steer clear of anything overly formal. We wanted people to have fun and sit around and chat – and that is exactly what happened! We were very happy.

I wanted everything to be as fairtrade/local as possible, so the florist learnt all about local flowers, the food was all local and the dress was made in Surrey. I made loads of bunting, I saved lots of jars and a friend helped paint them. Another friend made the cake, my OH made the cake topper and there wasn’t a chair covering in sight. My jewellery  was fairtrade metals and made in England. Then I lost the plot and bought 4 purple blankets from Tesco – for £1.50 each. Fairly sure there wasn’t fairtrade involved in that, but mistakes happen.

I enjoyed the day, although I didn’t really eat any of the food and I just couldn’t let go of the stage manager/events manager side of myself, so I spent quite a lot of time organising people. My top tip would be to have a stage manager for the day!

I haven’t decided if I want to share some photos on here yet, I will talk to my OH. But I will tell you something – the dress wasn’t white!

Oh and thanks to Ecoyogini – I blatantly stole her idea and it was great!

I am very happy to be married to my wonderful other half!

 

2 thoughts on “Married!

  1. EcoYogini says:

    YAY!!!!! Congratulations!! I am so happy that it was a wonderful Blessed day (and so fun that you did a handfasting!).
    Yes yes, I hope you post pictures soon 🙂

    Also- YAY FOR A WEDDING TREE!!

    Many Blessings to a Happy Marriage 😀

  2. Juliab says:

    Awww .. .just one little pic?? CONGRATULATIONS!! Sounds like a fab day 🙂

Leave a Reply

