Tick tock..

tempus fugit.

Blimey – how is nearly a month since I last posted? Time is flying by, although I have to say I have been felled by the seasonal lurgy, which is not like me at all. I got wiped out totally for a week, took another week to get much better, had a week of feeling OK, but not really up for exercising and then taken out again for another week.

Ugh, I am feeling really quite behind schedule now.

Because I am always a bit grumpy about Christmas I deny its existance until December and then I get overwhelmed with panic about how much I have to do to get presents ready. This year I have been ultra busy with my MA and so I have not made all of the presents I wanted too. But, I am not going to beat myself up, as that is far to easy to do and doesn’t actually achieve anything. (see many previous posts about me being a stress head).

I am really busy at the moment, as my course really is quite full on and really quite exciting. I have to do an internship as part of my course and I interviewed for a place with a small theatre company and they want to pay me as a kind of General Manager for them instead of interning. Ultra exciting and it has opened up a world of possiblities for me as working for myself, offering my business skills to arts organsiations. So, that is taking up quite a lot of head space to be honest!

On top of that I have been working in a pub at the weekend, supply teaching as and when and spending an awful lot of time being ill. Which is rather tedious.

So, lots of excitment and lots and lots to think about.

I have read a couple of books from my reading challenge, but just not got around to posting them as yet, I will do, but I am not going to  put on lots of pressure!

I am trying not to read lots of posts about all of the amazing things people have made for Yule/Christmas and feel guilty about it. Next year I will get my act together and when people start posting on Facebook in September about their preparations for Christmas I will not scoff and stick my fingers in my ears and go ‘la la la’ but pay attention a bit more. I would like to say that as we don’t have kids it is not that big a deal to make the house look nice and seasonal, but I know my OH loves Christmas and I should be a bit less humbug about it all!

How are your preparations going?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tick tock..

  1. EcoYogini says:

    ohhhh yep i ADORE Yulemas, even though I find it tricky to find a way to celebrate in a way that is special for YULE and not the “MAS” part…. lol

    but I hear ya on being busy! Also, I’m really sorry to hear you’re not feeling well, which is what i gather “lurgy” means lol. I LOVE your writing, I can almost hear an accented voice come through, which is great. 🙂

    Feel better soon!

  2. yes, ‘lurgy’ is ill! I’ve been to the drs today and it turns out that it is my asthma which is a real problem, so I am on steroids and antibiotics, ugh. But hopefully it will hit everything on the head and I can get back to being well and exercising again.

    I know, one of my friends, who is Christian, is so great at decorating – her and her husband go and gather seasonal greenery and decorate their house that way. I am so jealous – I really shouldn’t be, I should just do it!! It seems really Yule to me and not christmas – which I now associate with hideous bright lights and vast amounts of spendings. I am sure my friend would massivley disagree though!

    I have not had a good year for celebrating the festivals, it will get there in the end!

    Thanks for saying you love my writing, it is really nice to hear that, especially as I am thinking of making my writing a part of my business!

Leave a Reply

