2012

Well here we are, well in into 2012 now.

I have several things which I would like to focus on for this year, note I say focus, and not resolutions. I want these to be positive and not things to beat myself up with:

Running

The last few months have been a running disaster for me, I have caught lurgy after lurgy and it has had big repercussions with my asthma, I am going to write a post about that soon. However, I have been fixed and I have been out running since I got the all clear and remembered how much I love it and how grumpy I get when I don’t run. My aim for this year is to run a 10K in under an hour. Now, admittedly this is ten whole minutes off of my current PB, but that was on a really hilly course, similar to what I train on. I am hoping that if I get some treadmill training in and race on the flat I might be able to do this. So that I what I am thinking.

Blog 

After a lot of thought recently I have realised that I really enjoy writing and that this blog is a big outlet for that. So I am going to post at least twice each week. I know it’s not a lot, but I have been really sporadic in my writing and I want to put some focus on that and do something which I enjoy so much some more!

Happiness project 

I have already posted about the happiness project here  and I want to carry on with that. As a quick update on all of my daily resolutions I am doing really well on all of them. Except fruit. I haven’t managed to do it once, which is rather sad. I have got to get more focused on that! This covers a lot of things that would normally be covered in a big focus like I am writing here, but I would rather just think about them as the headlines of movement, space, spiritual, achieve, nagging task, fruit and be a good person. 

MA 

Well, strangely enough, I want to complete it to the best of my ability and make friends and contacts by the end of it. I have got my placement sorted out (except it is not just an internship – they are paying me for four months) and I am very excited about that and I want to do the best job that I can do, and it is a big challenge – I have to raise £40K in three months and organise a tour – it is a small theatre company. I also want to have something lined up for when I have finished – be that a job, several jobs, or my own company up and running. It is all very exciting and I want to have to trust in myself that it will all be good!

Spiritual 

As I have mentioned before I have the Mindfulness Based Cognitive Therapy course starting next week, which I am really looking forward to doing. I want to use this as a chance to consolidate those things into my practice and refresh it. I will share it with you along the way.

I also want to continue my Pagan practice, although at the moment, I am not sure how that will take shape, maybe I just need to let it evolve, rather than trying to pin it down.  Maybe a little more trust that it will all be good!

Creativity 

Here I am going to acknoweldge that I am a creative person (despite what my rational, logical brain keeps telling me) and I am going to allow myself to express that this year, in what ever form that takes. It maybe writing, music, crafting or anything else. And again I am going for unplanned and unstructured.

Overall, I think this year that I will try to allow some things to flow and to trust me a little bit. Maybe that should be my ‘word of the year’. Trust.

One thought on “2012

  1. Antara says:

    Oh I love this time of year and reading everyone’s plans and lists and cool things they are going to do in the next year. Based on your recommendations I am going to get some Jon Kabat-Zinn – I am starting with the basics “Wherever you are, there you go” and if that works out for me I would probably be really interested in taking a similar course.

    Interesting your comment on letting your paganism evolve. I am reading Evolutionary Witchcraft by T.Thorn Coyle (A writer I very much admire) and the introduction does discuss the evolution of her path as a magickal practitioner and how it *is* and evolution.

Leave a Reply

