Teach us to sit still

This book is not part of the reading challenge, but I do want to share it with you. It was recommended to my by a friend who I did the mindfulness based cognitive therapy course with last year.

It is the story of Tim Parks – who is a journalist and writer (as is the way of the world I finished the book and the next day read a Guardian article by him, even though I had never heard of him before).

He gets chronic male issues – lots of peeing in the night and general pain in his groin region. He spent a lot of time in the best consultants’ rooms, who were unable to help him at all. He eventually came across a book which helped him, basically by getting him to sit still.

Radical – right?

The reason I really identified with him is that he says he is generally a stressful person, he doesn’t sit still, even when he is writing he is bouncing or banging his hand. His way to relax is to run or do white water rafting. He also is not into dippy hippy things.

I got it.

Teach us to sit still

I never sit still – I am constantly on the move and to relax I run and get high on adrenaline.

He got really rather ill. When I read the book I was in the middle of the lurgy, which lasted well over a month and counting.

Hmmmm.

It really made me realise that maybe I should relax every once in a while, just do something for fun, instead of it having a goal and a aim. My meditation needs to come to the fore of my life a little more, along with general relaxation. I told my OH my revelation and he was so pleased – as he is constantly telling me to relax and it is not something that comes easily to me.

4 thoughts on “Teach us to sit still

  1. Antara says:

    Hmm – very interesting. I have finally got a copy of “Wherever you are, there you go” by JKZ on Mindfulness and am waiting for a gap in my reading schedule to get stuck in! But as I was reading your blog post it sort of struck me that I have the opposite problem. My mind is never still, even when I meditate and journey I am not trying to achieve “no mind” but rather follow some sort of practice, mentally casting circles, pentagrams, activating chakras etc. Perhaps I should try more “Thinking Still”?

  2. No, no, no!!! Meditation is great for minds that will not stay still – mine is never still. I am particually great at worrying! I really do recommend meditation for restless minds, it really does help, you actually get a break from your mind for a while. It is most restful!!

    • Antara says:

      Hmm – a break from my mind is a very interesting idea – I definitely see what you mean about being restful. I had better get on and read the JKZ faster than I thought.

  3. I am now worried that I have not explained myself properly at all!

Leave a Reply

