A dark adapted eye

When I first started on this Genre Busting reading challenge I thought that I never read crime novels and never really have done. Except that is a total lie, when I started to think about it I realised that I loved reading Agatha Christie when I was younger, instigated by my mum, who gave me all of her novels to read. And my absolute guilty pleasure (shhh, don’t tell anyone) is watching Miss Marple or Poriot on a Sunday afternoon, while I am doing some crafting stuff.

Then I started to think about it some more and I realised that I did used to read a range of crime novels, although the authors escape me right now. So, this really has made me reassess my reading habits and next time I go to the library I might well head onto the crime section as well.

Anyway – onto the book. The first award that I looked at was the Mystery Writers of America and Ruth Rendell was the 1997 winner. Now these awards are a bit different in that it is not given for a specific book, but a writer. I searched at the library and realised that Barbara Vine was a pen name for her as well, so I decided to get one of hers as I wanted one which interested me. So I chose ‘A Dark Adapted Eye’.

Quote from the first page:

In these circumstances alone one knows when someone is going to die. All other deaths can be predicted, conjectured, even anticipated with some certainty, but not to eh hour, the minute, with no room for hope. Vera would die at eight o’clock and that was that. I began to feel sick.

Hmm, interesting – no?

Now, I have to say that this was hard going at first, mainly because of all the names and who married who and who was related to whom, not helped by the fact that lots of people changed their names, over and above getting married. It made it rather confusing.

However as I went on I started to get more engrossed in the plot and the book, I started to care about the characters and wanted to know more.

The plot twists were brilliant – you are never quite told what is going on until later when you realise and it all makes perfect sense, or not as the case maybe.

I am pleased that I read this book and I will certainly investigate more of her books (under both names).

2 thoughts on “A dark adapted eye

  1. paddyro says:

    I think it would be a good idea if the characters were listed at the front of the book explaining who they are and their relationship to each other. I find myself cotinuously flicking back through the pages to identify the more obscure ones especially as I only find time to read two or three chapters in one hit.

Leave a Reply

