It’s good to talk

I had dinner with Antara on Friday, we were introduced by a mutual friend a long time ago and have had many long email conversations, but have only met in person a couple of times.

We had an excellent time together and spent a long time talking about the difficulties of older style Pagan reading, such as Alistair Crowley, as we had to read with a massive sexist/racist filter on. There is some excellent information and practices in there, but it is polluted by these things that we do not like and really puts me, at least, on edge, or angry even.

For me, the nicest thing about this get together was being able to talk about our individual practices, difficulties that I was having and being able to solve them together. It is hard when you spend most of your time practicing as an individual, especially as one who follows such an eclectic path, with no-one to talk to about things. My OH is amazing at giving me advice, but he isn’t Pagan and doesn’t share the same knowledge base with me on these matters.

It does make me wish that I worked with the same people, even though, I know in my heart that I am quite a solitary person in this respect. I want to see people on a weekly basis that I can talk through difficult patches with, although I am sure if I had that opportunity that I wouldn’t take it up all of the time, it would be nice to know it was there and an option.

What about you? Is this something that you struggle with? Do you have people close to you that you can talk to?

Leave a Reply

