Update

Well, it has been a very long time since I wrote, and I have to admit that I almost wrote a closing post saying that I was ending this blog. I kept putting it off as it just didn’t feel right at all, and now a couple of months after that I have decided to keep writing again. Mainly as I don’t have an outlet for sharing my creative work or my rambling thoughts.

I won’t do a long catchup post, as that would take far too long, but essentially, setting up my own business has been great, I have been really busy with it which is fantastic.

I seem to have learned a couple of important lessons recently. Firstly if you are ill, take a couple of days off of work straight away and then a couple of days of taking it easy and then it goes, instead of illness dragging on for months like it does normally for me. This sounds really obvious, but how many of us actually do this? The cold and flu adverts tell us that if we just take this pill everything will be ok and we can keep on going. But that is not actually true. As great as my work is, it is not so important that the world will come to an end if I spend a couple of days on the sofa, spending half an hour here and there fending off emails.

So, I have been ill but not for as long as normal and that is to be celebrated!

I also have really relaxed over this holiday period (today is my first day back at work since the 21st of December) and I have to admit that was forced on me. I fell whilst running and hurt my knees quite badly and so I had to spend a couple of days on the sofa hardly moving and then taking it easy for over a week. Actually I think I needed it. I had a massive long to do list for the holidays and I decided that resting my knees properly was more important as I need to be training for my first ever marathon in April and I needed them to be back as soon as possible. I still got lots on my list done, but rather than working at something (eg sorting out the wardrobe) for hours I would just say, right I am just going to do this shelf. And leave it at that.

This meant that I still got things done, but without pushing myself to do everything NOW! Which is how I normally do things.

So, two valuable lessons about rest and relaxation, neither of which I have traditionally been very good at. I plan on taking these things through to the New Year!

2 thoughts on “Update

  1. EcoYogini says:

    yay welcome back!!! i was wondering how you were doing. I’m glad it’s going well. I feel like the fall was super busy and just FLEW by… and I’ve also felt less inclined to write as often on my blog, so i understand 🙂

Leave a Reply

