Blogland can be great!

So, in my last post I was rather down on how blogs and personal sites can make me feel rather horrible, and I am sure the same is true for lots of other people as well.

However, I want to focus on why blogland can be a wonderful place.

I now have so many people that I know about through the internet who are genuinely wonderful – and here I am going to list a few of them.

Fusion Studio – even though I live miles away from Rachel, so that popping in and seeing her for a yoga class or a massage isn’t possible, she bought about an amazing change in my life – I now have massage regularly. It isn’t a treat, but something which I have realised my body needs on a regular basis, otherwise it effectively starts to seize up. After a while something major goes ‘sproing!’ (a technical term I think you will find) and I end up in a lot of pain. Her post about this changed my life. I started following her when she had a personal blog and I still follow her now she has set up a studoi. I recently found out we are on the same online business group and I hope to meet her at a London get together soon.

Ecoyogini – ahh, now when I get to Canada this lady had better expect a knock on the door! Especially if she has moved out to her rural house that she is planning. I love reading Ecoyogini – she inspires me to be greener and more thoughtful, and here’s the good bit, without preaching, or making me feel bad at all. I think this is a real skill and one that is not to be underestimated in its difficulty or importance. I am sure this is because of her day job as a language therapist (among other things) making her think about the language she uses. We have corresponded a lot by email and I feel like she is a friend.

Bit of the good stuff. Now this is a rather unusual blog, in that Gavin (my husband) recommended it to me, because the lady who writes it is an old school friend. She writes about whole food, plant based writing, and her writing is inspirational, but not completely unattainable in its style.

I have just come back from a week away with Gavin’s family just outside of Bath. I looked up the bit of the good stuff site, as I knew she had written about raw chocolate and I wanted to think about making some for presents for people at yule time. It turned out that Sharon, the writer, lived just a short distance away. I ummed and ahhed for a while and then I decided I would email her. Now, I haven’t had any contact with her up to this date, in fact I haven’t even commented on her blog, as I haven’t been very active in the blog world of late.

So I sent the email and tried not to sound like a crazy internet stalker person.

I was delighted when she said she was free while I was in the area. So we met up.

I had a wonderful time, it was so nice to be chatting with someone else on the Buddhist path and who is trying to live their life well, ethically and doing what is right. I really wished that I lived nearer so we could meet up again and have more conversations about everything! It is great when you meet someone for the first time and time just flies by.

Sharon has inspired me to stoke this blog up a little and I will write about that in a future post.

Which ‘ordinary’ blogging people do you find inspiring?

6 thoughts on “Blogland can be great!

  1. EcoYogini says:

    Awww! Thank you!! I also feel that way about your blog- and I agree 100% about some blogs making me feel awful about myself and my life. I don’t buy self-help books for that very reason.
    I find twitter helps me feel connected even more closely- especially in conjunction to reading the blogs 🙂

  2. […] after my talk with Sharon at a bit of the good stuff I have decided that I am going to focus on my spiritual journey here, […]

  3. My favourite thing about blogging is the wonderful people that it throws me into contact with, such as yourself ♥
    If you ever come across blogs that make you feel crap, I recommend ditching them. There are so many great, warm, loving, inspiring blogs out there that we don’t need to waste our time & energy reading those that are full of self promotion or leave us feeling inadequate in some way. Such blogs tend to project an image of the world that’s far from real x

    • I agree with you. We have to ignore those which make us feel rubbish! I also am aware of the difference between reality and what blogs show us. I do think I can often forget that though!

  4. […] is something I struggled with for quite sometime, until I met and chatted with Sharon from a bit of the good stuff. And she said something which really resonated with me – […]

Leave a Reply

