My yoga practice

I have to admit, it does amuse me when Ecoyogini talks about yoga studios and how expensive and unenviornmentally friendly they are.

Yoga, for the most part in England is practised in village halls. There are studios in London and other big towns/cities, but everywhere I have practised (including London) it has been in little village halls, school halls, church halls, playgroups and other such places, often just after the cubs have met and so the floor needs a good sweeping.

Women practice in their baggy tracksuits with old tshirts, or cheap see through leggings. And so, the talk of £100 lulemon leggings is quite laughable, especially when Lulemon seems to go out of its way to insult women.

I went to my first yoga class when I was 14, I distinctly remember my mum writing to the British Wheel of Yoga and recieving a little booklet of nearby classes. My mum was desperate for a way for me to manage my generally stressy ways, which would in time develop into a full on depression, which is still with me today, as is the tendancy towards stress.

I am now 34, and so have been going to yoga on and off for over twenty years. To be fair, it has mainly been off with periods of concentrated practice. Now, yoga is back in my life, I go to a class once a week, I practice in the morning for about 20 mins and I am starting up my YogaGlo membership again in exchange for my gym membership.

For the last three years I have been focusing on running and competing with that, as well as trying to train for triathlon. Essentially my body has now broken down and I am convinced it was marathon training which did it, I have damaged my neck and my knee, and it is time to develop a different exercise routine and stop focusing on competition.

When I first started doing yoga I did competitive yoga, trying to be the best in the room. Oh how I can look back at my younger self with amusement and fondness. I have now learnt a different way. My practice is based on how I am when I am on my mat, not on anyone else, or on how I was a month ago.

I hope to attend more classes, but I don’t want to overcommit and with the Rangers, Buddhist classes and seeing my husband and friends I am tight for time. Ideally I would have an afternoon session, as I much prefer working in the mornings but I haven’t been able to find one.

One thought on “My yoga practice

  1. […] As I have said before, yoga around here tends to be done in village halls, with everyone is either see through leggings or track suit bottoms, no lulemon here! […]

Leave a Reply

