Bimbling goals – part 1

Goals could be seen to be contrary to my word of the year being bimbling, but actually they are bimbling goals, not driven but kind and gentle. Most of them are aims rather than actual goals. If I don’t make them it is not another way for me to beat myself up, it is just a way of focusing and shaping my year.

So here we go:

Financial

To feel more relaxed about money
Money has always been a stress point for me and now I have the added stress of being self employed and although it has gone well so far I am prone to worry. Part of this will be to see an IFA and to look at my budget again.

To save £xx into my emergency savings
I think this is really a subset of the above!

To give more to charity
My husband and I at the end of last year decided to sponsor a girl through Plan UK and I am also starting to lend via Kiva. I have allocated a small amount to do this each month.

2 no buying physical things month
I did this last year and although it had to be stopped due to a puppy incident of eating my glasses, I found it eye opening to my spending habits, so I would like to do that again this year.

Body

To learn to accept my body and to be as healthy as I can
Difficult challenge here. I don’t know what is happening with my body, if my knee is just isolated to my knee or if it is start of major problems with my hypermobility. I don’t know if my knee can be fixed with a simple operation, or if I have to live with it. So this goal is about trying to be accepting of myself and kind towards me. The healthy as I can refers to the fact that I can no longer be training for a marathon, I have to be realistic about myself!

To have 24 massages a year
Massage helps my body to keep moving and to not seize up, I have written about it before and it is important to my physical and mental health.

To swim at least twice a week.
A gentle goal for me, I wanted to put down four times a week but if I aim for two I can always do more than it!

To do a yoga class at least four times a month
I really feel that yoga rebuilds my body, which I need and my lovely teacher has started up a restorative class, which is what I need rather than hard core astanga!

To try tai chi
I have been wanting to try tai chi again for ages. I used to do martial arts, but after breaking and dislocating I realised it wasn’t such a good idea for my body. But I like learning katas and tai chi has them. It is also a moving meditation and slow and precise is key. Neither of which I am particularly good at, but I think it would be good for me to learn!

To have swimming lessons one to one
I love swimming and I want my technique looked at to make sure I am not damaging myself through poor technique.

Creative

Hmm, looking at my goals I have written quite a few of them are not bimbling and so I am editing them to the following

To create for creativity’s sake
This is my main one – to do things for fun, not to show to other people. I think this idea is practically therapy for me and one I should apply for my whole life! It is the opposite of perfection, it is about enjoying life, colour and things!

To experiment with raw chocolate
I made raw chocolate for presents this year and it went down well and I would like to make different flavours

To play music four times a month
I love to play my instruments, but I never do it and I don’t know why. Maybe writing it down will make me do it.

To listen to music and do nothing else four times a month
I used to spend hours as a young adult doing this and it fed my soul in no uncertain terms. Now I only listen to music when I am doing something. But music is more important to me than that and I want to prioritise it .

To do morning pages every day
to handwrite in a notepad – not a nice moleskin or other, but just a notebook with pencil. This is all of the moaning, whinging and ‘I did this and went there’ type writing that clogs my brain up

To write 1000 words a day
This will be typed and possibly turned into blog posts, or maybe at some point something bigger, who knows.

I want to be a published writer someday – in fact I already have been, but under client’s names when I worked in PR, I have been published in quite a few trade magazines but I want to be published under my name. Writing every day makes it more likely to happen. Someone once said you are what you do every day. So I want to be a writer, so I need to write every day.

To publish 5 photos a week on flikr or this blog
I want to develop my visual side of my creativity, which is quite weak actually, so by setting myself a goal of 5 photos a week I will have to take lots of photos and get out there!

To have 2 artist dates a month
To go off by myself and do something to ‘fill my well’ as Julia Cameron puts it

There are other sections in this goals list, but I will save them for another time as this is getting rather long now!

Leave a Reply

