Going omni

As you know, I recently went vegetarian and this has been a great struggle for me, I have felt much better ethically for being vegetarian, however it has been causing me a lot of stress.

Firstly my body has been craving meat, not just the occasional bacon sarnie, but like it needs meat. I have been ill a lot recently and I worry that it is partly related to that. When I told my mum I was going vegetarian she said that I should be careful not to get ill, as that did happen last time I went veggie for a period.

Although I don’t think my illness is totally related to not eating meat, I don’t think it has helped.

As I have said before I don’t have the best relationship with food and I struggle to know what to eat and cook. And this has added a new layer of complexity to eating and another aspect to worry about – am I getting enough protein to give myself energy?

So, I feel like I am cheating in going back to eating meat, especially as it just felt so right ethically, but I can’t do it anymore. What doesn’t help is I am a very fussy eater and there have been times when I have been out that I haven’t eaten much at all because of this and that hasn’t helped my overall health and how I feel at that time.

I am going to buy ethical meat, and I will probably go back to buying from Abel and Cole again, as this is a good way of getting ethical meat.

It is also difficult in announcing to people that, once again, I have changed my mind. But once again, I need to learn that it doesn’t matter what other people think about me, I have to do what is right for me.

One thought on “Going omni

  1. beckyannison says:

    Have you considered staying vegetarian away from home and when eating at home only eating the most ethical meat you can find. That way you won’t have to deal with people cooking you battery chickens and end up eating it from politeness?

Leave a Reply

