Kindness

I found this on the wonderful Kindred of the Quiet Way blog, and it I think it sums up what I am thinking at the moment

“Kindness’ covers all of my political beliefs. No need to spell them out. I believe that if, at the end, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this and am happy I lived long enough to find it out.” Roger Ebert.

Of course this can be more simply, and slightly crudely put as Wheaton’s Law

Don’t be a dick

6 thoughts on “Kindness

  1. Juds Newlife says:

    That closely aligns with my beliefs, which are kind of simple, just the way I like them.

    I believe that we are here, in this flesh and this time, for two reasons.

    To be happy. Why else would there be such an abundance of opportunities for happiness. They vastly, perhaps exponentially, outnumber those for trouble or woe

    To be of service. This is however our hearts and talents call us. It is also a component of our own happiness and satisfaction.

    And, I think that it is important to remember that I have ample choices during each day to manifest those two precepts. All day long, over and over again. It is my bliss to take full advantage.

    • What a lovely comment, thank you.

      I agree about both of your points, especially to be of service, I am finally getting to the point where I feel like I am being of service in the way which is right for me.

  2. morelenmr says:

    I agree unreservedly.

    Kindness, positivity, creativity. Be a GOOD person.

  3. Pen Wilcock says:

    Herman Hesse’s words on happiness:

    “In life there is only one duty,
    and that is the duty of happiness.
    This is the reason for our being here,
    but all our duties, moral codes and regulations
    do not make us happy, and so we seldom make each other happy.
    If we are to be good, we can be so only when we are happy,
    when we carry harmony within; in other words, when we love.
    This is the Teaching; the only Teaching in the world:
    the only one taught by Jesus Christ,
    the only one taught by Buddha, and taught by Hegel too.
    For each of us, the most important thing in the world
    is our innermost being, the Soul, the ability to love.
    If this is in good order, you can eat cake or crusts,
    wear jewellery or rags, and the world will ring in purity with the soul –
    will be good, will be in good order.”

    • Oh that’s wonderful, thanks Pen.

      great food for thoughts…..how to look after our innermost being, our soul? Hmm, something which isn’t going to be answered in a simple soundbite I feel, but is great, ongoing soul work!

      thanks so much

Leave a Reply

